Partition of Burma, 1935 – 1948

The British partitioned Burma as it was known then or Myanmar as it is known now, through the Government of India Act of 1935. On 1 April 1937, Burma became a separately administered colony of Great Britain, and on 4 January 1948, Burma became an independent republic. This partition was also done on religious lines, igniting the Budhist-Muslim conflict in Myanmar which has now evolved into the current-day Rohingya crisis.